The Foundation

The non-profit foundation, which was established by doctor Barbara Mez-Starck in 1998, promotes spatially unrestrictedly science and research in the field of natural sciences, especially in chemistry and physics.

The purpose of the foundation is to be achieved in particular through support of the section Chemical Information Systems (formerly Spectra and Structure Documentation) at the University of Ulm, which maintains and develops doctor Barbara Mez-Starck life's work.

Board of Management
Advisory Board

Board of Management

Werner Braun
former group executive management and bank manager of Commerzbank,
self-employed trainer and coach in the field of character and management guidance

Thomas Vetter
managing board
Commerzbank Munich

Dr. Jürgen Vogt
former head Chemical Information
Systems, University of Ulm

Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Karl Joachim Ebeling
former president
University of Ulm

Hartmut Grünert
former bank director

Prof. Dr. Axel Groß
professor for theoretical
Chemistry, University of Ulm

Supported Projects

The following projects have been or will be promoted by the doctor Barbara Mez-Starck foundation:

Supported Projects

Development of MOGADOC Database

Grant for Windows PC pool at University of Ulm

Modernization of gas electron diffraction apparatus at Moscow State University

Establishment of Chemistry Computer Lab at University of Ulm

Grant for computer class at Moscow State University

Further projects

Supported Projects

Development of MOGADOC Database

Grant for Windows PC pool at University of Ulm

Modernization of gas electron diffraction apparatus at Moscow State University

Establishment of Chemistry Computer Lab at University of Ulm

Grant for computer class at Moscow State University

Further projects


The foundation built a modern office and seminar building within walking distance to the university campus in Ulm. The compact and cubic building offers flexible space on four floors for university uses.

The building consists of a massive core with a reinforced concrete skeleton and an envelope of thermally insulated cross laminated timber. The outer facade is formed by high-pressure laminated boards and external sun protections as sliding elements. The wood-aluminum windows are triply glazed. The interior work is made by wood and exposed concrete.

On the roof the rainwater is collected and reused in the building. The ecologically sustainable house is tempered by an air-water heat pump which is coupled to a photovoltaic system.

For the environmental compensation the foundation bought eco-points from an ecological project near Ulm. The purpose is to create and maintain a structurally rich edge of forest with a native composition of trees (among others beeches and oaks).

On October 2022 the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck House was inaugurated.

  • Floor plan size:
    circa 1800 m2
  • Begin of construction:
    end of 2020
  • Completion:
    August 2022
  • Building-costs:
    about 6.4 million Euro


In commemoration of the founder, each year since 2005 the foundation awards the local Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Prize to the best graduates in chemistry at the University of Ulm.

Details of awarding

Normally three chemists will be awarded, who graduated during the previous academic year (deadline Sept. 30) within a total period of study of ten semesters (6 semesters for Bachelor plus 4 semesters for Master) and who belong to the best 10 % of the academic year. One cannot apply for this prize nor can be nominated by somebody else.

The selected three students will receive cash prizes, namely:

  1. first prize with 1000.- €
  2. second prize with 800.- €
  3. third prize with 600.- €

The awarding of the prize winners by representatives of the Foundation Board takes place during a special colloquium.

On July 27, 2022 at the anniversary colloquium “50 years of chemistry at the University of Ulm” the best Master-graduates in Chemistry  were awarded for the academic years 2018/2019 to 2020/2021 with the local Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Prizes:

– Kerstin Köble
– Matthias Uhl
– Martin Lämmle
– Benedikt Bagemihl

– Sonja Ehrle
– Anna Aubele
– Teresa Kraus
– Daniel Stottmeister

– Monja Schilling
– Andreas Englert
– Philipp Schweigart

The subsequent special lecture was given by Chemistry Nobel laureate Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn (University of Strasbourg) on „Steps towards life: Chemistry“.


The international Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Prize is given on an annual basis, consisting of up to five thousand euros (5,000 €) and an appropriate memento. The purpose of the award is to recognize and encourage outstanding accomplishments in the field of experimental high-precision structural chemistry and molecular physics (including mainly gas electron diffraction, microwave and high-resolution infrared spectroscopy). A group of eminent workers in the field is asked for nominations.

On August 29, 2021 professor Melanie Schnell (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron in Hamburg) and professor Stephan Schlemmer (University of Cologne) were awarded at the 27th Colloquium on High Resolution Molecular Spectroscopy in Cologne.

Prof. Melanie Schnell (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron in Hamburg) was awarded for her outstanding studies of structural changes in water complexes with increasing amounts of water molecules as well as for her pioneering investigations of enantiomers and the separation of these chirally different molecules.

Prof. Schlemmer (University of Cologne) received the prize for his pioneering high-resolution spectroscopic studies of molecular ions by light-induced reactions in ion traps especially for his spectroscopic investigations of the highly flexible methanium ion CH5+, which plays a key role in chemistry and in the astrophysical exploration in space.


Previous winners


2020: not awarded

2019: Prof. Dr. Anatoly A. Ischenko

2018: Prof. Dr. Alberto Lesarri and Prof. Dr. Emilio J. Cocinero

2017: not awarded

2016: Prof. Dr. Michael C. McCarthy

2015: Prof. Dr. Heinz Oberhammer and Prof. Dr. Lucy M. Ziurys

2014: Prof. Dr. Yunjie Xu

2013: not awarded

2012: Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jäger

2011: Prof. Dr. Lev V. Vilkov and Prof. Dr. Georgiy V. Girichev

2010: Prof. Dr. James E. Boggs and Prof. Dr. Harald Møllendal

2009: Private lecturer Dr. Jens-Uwe Grabow

2008: Dr. Jean Demaison

2007: Prof. Dr. David W. H. Rankin

2006: Prof. Dr. Kozo Kuchitsu

2005: Prof. Dr. Kenneth Hedberg and Prof. Dr. Heinz-Dieter Rudolph

2004: Prof. Dr. Lawrence S. Bartell

2003: Prof. Dr. Victor P. Spiridonov


According to the foundation's statutes, the foundation funds scientific projects that are based in the natural sciences, primarily chemistry and physics, and are not related to medicine. The funding of academic teaching is not excluded.

NOTE: As the foundation is already involved in ongoing projects, no further applications are being accepted at this time.